Armstrong In The Media

Armstrong's Design Envelope EVERCOOL solution wins HVR 2020 Product Of The Year award

Posted by Armstrong Fluid Technology on Oct 16, 2020 11:59:12 AM

As Seen On: October 16, 2020

The 11th annual HVR Awards took place on Thursday 15 October and, while the established industry event was unable to go ahead in its traditional format, the live stream served as an incredible celebration of the very best products, businesses and initiatives from across the heating and ventilating sector.

Hundreds of professionals tuned in to the live-stream – hosted by critically acclaimed comedian Ian Moore and the voice of the National Lottery and Strictly Come Dancing, Alan Dedicoat – to find out who would be picking up a prestigious ‘flamey’ trophy in 2020.

The first reveal of the ceremony saw Ideal Heating pick up the Commercial/Industrial Heating Product of the Year (sponsored by Stelrad) for the Evomax 2, which the judges praised for being a product engineered to be highly efficient with very low emissions.

The award for Domestic Product of the year went to Airflow Developments for the Adroit Cooker Hood Ventilation Unit. The judges noted that the product was innovative and delivered on other key areas such as environmental impact through the unit’s thermal efficiency and use of recycled aluminium to manufacture the heat exchanger, thus reducing the carbon footprint.

Armstrong Fluid Technology picked up the Commercial/Industrial Air Conditioning Product of the Year gong for the EVERCOOLTM, with the judges commenting that as well as savings, the product offers flexibility, reliability and optimised efficiency.

In the Sustainable Product of the Year category (sponsored by Baxi Heating), Humidity Solutions picked up the top honour for the Cotes Desiccant dehumidifier for lithium-ion battery production. The HVR judges praised the detailed submission for showcasing the huge amount of innovation put into the product, and the impressive results that it has produced.

The hotun detect from RA Tech UK was awarded the title of Ancillary Product of the Year, with the judges commending the product for being a simple idea that is innovative and – at the set price point – accessible to all.

Mansfield Pollard picked up the Commercial/Industrial Ventilation Product of the Year for the UVent – Ultraviolet Air Sterilisation Systems, which the judges felt was very relevant in today’s global position and was key to creating indoor ‘safe havens’ with reduced power consumption and heat production.

In the Collaboration of the Year category (sponsored by Smith Brothers Stores), CIAT came out on top for their work on the Landmark Pinnacle, Canary Wharf – with the judges commenting on the well thought out plans and deserving products.

The HVAC Initiative of the Year category saw a number of exceptional entries and, after much careful consideration, the Swiftclean Operations Team COVID Services from Swiftclean UK was selected as the winner for being a good example of a company being proactive and helping its customer.

Baxi Heating claimed the top spot in the Net Zero Hero category (sponsored by NAADUK). The judges noted that Baxi showed a dedication to assisting the heating sector to achieve net zero carbon by 2050 by developing hydrogen fired boilers to replace natural gas versions, proving that hydrogen can be used safely which is important to gain consumer acceptance.

The penultimate category of the ceremony was for Wholesaler/Distributor of the Year – the only category determined by an online industry vote. Smith Brothers Stores claimed the top spot, marked the company’s third consecutive win at the Awards.

The ceremony closed with the presentation of the Star Product Award: a unique accolade introduced last year to mark the HVR Awards’ 10th anniversary, with each 2019 winner being in with a chance to win. It was Klima-Therm that came out on top, winning the award for the Rhoss EXP HT Heat Pump – which the judges praised for being an innovative way of using existing high efficiency low carbon heat pumps of various types and bringing them together to produce a much more flexible and efficient solution.

A full list of winners and highly commended can be found online at:

The organisers of the HVR Awards would like to thank our esteemed panel of judges including Ross Anderson of ICOM, Martyn Cooper of FETA, Duncan Sibbald of BESA, JE Hall engineer Lisa-Jayne Cooke, Stewart Clements of HHIC and consultant TJ Duncan-Moir.

We also extend sincere thanks to this year’s sponsors, whose continued support made this virtual celebration of industry excellence possible: headline sponsor BESA, Baxi Heating, Smith Brothers Stores, Stelrad and NAADUK.

Topics: In The Media, Product of the Year, HVR Awards, EVERCOOL

Never miss a thing!

Be the first to get notified

Sign up for our blog notifications and you will be one of the first to know when there is new content. If you want to be in the know, sign up now.

Sign up for notifications now

Recent Posts

Posts by Topic

see all